Skip to content

Just Read It!

June 23, 2010

Share this post: Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Like many of our edotters, I love to read.  Fiction, nonfiction, blogs, magazines…you name it, I’ll read it.  A few weeks ago, when we were updating our categories on the edot site, we received a suggestion that we award “dots” for downloading an ebook.

I have to admit, I struggled with the request.  Not because I don’t like downloading books–a quick look at my Amazon account will show otherwise.  I read on my phone, my Kindle, my computer..pretty much anywhere I can.  But I also love the feeling of pages in my hands and the tangible goodness of a solid cover.  I dog-ear my pages, write in the margins, and pretty much attach myself to a book.

Then the angel on my other shoulder joined the conversation.  “Trees.”  “Oil.”  “Transportation costs.” I realized the irony of the moment when I found myself reading a section (in a paperback) about the transportation of food in Peter Singer’s The Ethics of What We Eat. Books are food for the mind.  No doubt.  So shouldn’t we consider the same costs to the environment?

Our objective at edot is not to become extremists but to encourage and help motivate each other to make small changes that collectively make a difference.  This doesn’t mean that every day should be a “meatless day” but that a decision to have a “Meatless Monday” does make an positive impact on the environment and global warming.  We don’t think hard copies of books are obsolete, but we do want to encourage people to consider a variety of alternative ways to help the environment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 7:30 pm

    I use my local library. That way I can feel the book and have low impact on the environment. I only buy those books that I want to go back to time and again, which are usually music books. I wonder if music books are available for iPad or Kindle yet? I can’t stick a laptop on my music stand, but an iPad would work!!

    • May 21, 2017 12:41 am

      Posts like this make the inrnteet such a treasure trove

    • September 4, 2017 12:41 am

      It's all good in the hood, Just love it! The gang at is working hard to bring a theme line of Shirts, Apparel, Gift items in support of Boner Billy’s famous Hot Dogs. When I run across outstanding shirts like here I am inspired by what I see, and full of ideas, great shirts, great job!

Leave a comment